Bern_congress02-b_Mesa de trabajo 1 copi



  • The conference will take place at the University of Bern on  11-13 November 2021

  • Notification of accepted proposals: 31 August 2021

  • Registration for the congress will be possible from 1 September  2021 onwards


The participation fees are as follows:


Professors and senior researchers: 120 CHF


Post-docs/PhD Students: 70 CHF


Post-docs/PhD Students from the University of Bern, Fribourg, or Neuchâtel: free



It is assumed that the congress will be held in person. In the event that the conference has to be moved online for public health-related reasons, conference fees will be readjusted and participants will be notified.

In order to encourage the circulation and exchange of ideas and experience among young academics, the congress will offer scholarships to two promising young researchers from European countries (at the PhD or early postdoctoral level) who want to participate. The congress scholarships will be provided in the form of:

  • Reimbursement for travel expenses (max. 400 CHF)

  • Lodging for the duration of the congress (max 80 CHF per day)

  • A waived inscription fee 

  • A waived fee for the official congress dinner 


The allocation of both congress grants will be established on the basis of the winning abstracts’ outstanding quality, along with other socio-economic factors related to the candidates’ origins. Young researchers who wish to apply for a scholarship are invited to contact the organizers of the congress at either one of the following e-mail addresses: or



As members of the scientific committee we rely on researchers specialised in various fields of sociolinguistics from universities worldwide.


  • Carlota de Benito Moreno (URPP Language and Space, Universität Zürich)

  • Paul Baker (University of Lancaster)

  • Adriana Bolívar (Universidad Central de Venezuela)

  • Alejandro Grimson (Universidad Nacional de San Martín, Argentina)

  • Rosina Márquez Reiter (The Open University)

  • Susana Martínez (University of New Mexico)

  • Isabel Molina Martos (Universidad de Alcalá de Henares / CSIC)

  • Laura Morgenthaler García (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)

  • Adriana Patiño (University of Southampton)

  • Stefan Schmid (Institut für Computerlinguistik, Universität Zürich)

  • Juan Manuel Villena Ponsoda (Universidad de Málaga)

  • Daniel Weston (University of Cambridge)